Surf Sweets Gummy Bears

When I first went gluten free, I was shocked and dismayed by how many candies were no longer safe. Why did candy even need flour in it? If you don’t already know, gluten is a binding agent. And it’s cheap. So you will, sadly, find it in a lot of candies. And if it’s not wheat gluten, it’s barley or barley malt as a flavoring agent.

Not that candy is something anyone needs to be eating a lot of, but sometimes a treat is really nice. Especially if it’s a treat from childhood (or as close as you can get).

I didn’t actually like gummy anything before going gluten free. The texture was disturbing. But once I was gluten free, I found my options severely limited, and not just in candy (vitamins too were often gummy or nothing for those of us who can’t swallow pills).

So I got used to them, and now I can honestly say that I enjoy my my occasional bag of Surf Sweets Gummy Bears. Just don’t ask me to eat Gummy Worms!

May2014_iPadPhotos 156

 

As you can probably tell from the photo, they will start to clump together if they get warm, but you can either pull them apart, or just enjoy a nice gummy bear ball.

Here is what is so great about them (from the back of this bag):

  • Made with organic fruit juice
  • 100% Vitamin C per serving
  • Gluten Free (per their website, they appear to have new packaging and list GF certification!)
  • Corn Syrup Free
  • No artificial colors or flavors
  • Free of the 10 most common allergens (dairy/casein, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, wheat, soy, fish, shellfish, sesame and sulfites), as is the facility
  • Dairy Free/Casein Free
  • Soy Free
  • Made in a Nut-Free Facility

Flavors: Cherry, Grapefruit, Grape, Lemon, Orange, and Strawberry

These are not vegan, but they do have some that are.

You can learn more here.

[Total: 0    Average: 0/5]

Facebook Comments