When I first went gluten free, I was shocked and dismayed by how many candies were no longer safe. Why did candy even need flour in it? If you don’t already know, gluten is a binding agent. And it’s cheap. So you will, sadly, find it in a lot of candies. And if it’s not wheat gluten, it’s barley or barley malt as a flavoring agent.
Not that candy is something anyone needs to be eating a lot of, but sometimes a treat is really nice. Especially if it’s a treat from childhood (or as close as you can get).
I didn’t actually like gummy anything before going gluten free. The texture was disturbing. But once I was gluten free, I found my options severely limited, and not just in candy (vitamins too were often gummy or nothing for those of us who can’t swallow pills).
So I got used to them, and now I can honestly say that I enjoy my my occasional bag of Surf Sweets Gummy Bears. Just don’t ask me to eat Gummy Worms!
As you can probably tell from the photo, they will start to clump together if they get warm, but you can either pull them apart, or just enjoy a nice gummy bear ball.