Responses from Manufacturers: August, October, December 2008

Nestle: August 1, 2008
The Gerber® Single Grain Rice Cereal does not contain gluten. However, due to occasional ingredient changes, the labels of all containers should be checked for ingredients and accepted as the actual content. 
Gerber has extensive quality control practices to clean up production facilities to prevent cross contamination of food allergens from one product to another.  In addition to very stringent cleanup procedures that must be applied between production of different products, employees receive “allergen training”. Gerber has also had FDA inspections which included evaluations of our allergen control processes and the FDA did not find any faults with our control practices.
If you have additional questions or concerns, please call 1-800-4-GERBER and refer to File No. 030309202A. Our representatives are available any time day or night to assist you.
Best wishes from your friends @ gerber.com.
Nestle: August 26, 2008

Thank you for taking the time to contact Nestlé® regarding whether or not there is gluten in our Nesquik and Hot Cocoa. We welcome questions and comments from loyal consumers such as yourself and appreciate this opportunity to assist you.


Our gluten allergen statement is for gluten from any source, not just wheat. All Nesquik Powder flavors, including the No Sugar Added, are made on equipment that also processes wheat. There is no direct addition of gluten, but there is cross-contact potential. For this reason, no flavor is considered gluten free. Our Hot Cocoa Mixes are also processed on equipment that processes soy and wheat.

There are eight major food allergens, including milk, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts (such as walnuts and almonds), soy, wheat, fish and shellfish. Regulations on food labels require that all ingredients be listed on the label’s ingredient statement. Nestlé USA ensures that when any of these eight allergens are present in our products – no matter how much is included or whether a supplier may have added it – we note it on the label. We see it as our responsibility to ensure that these ingredients are properly labeled by their common name in the ingredient statement.

For your convenience we have also attached a list of gluten free products manufactured by Nestlé® USA. [Link: http://nestle-consumerservices.casupport.com/eglutenfree.pdf

At Nestlé, we are dedicated to you and your family throughout every phase of your lives. Your feedback is valuable to us, as it helps us to improve our products and services.

We appreciate your interest in our products and hope you will visit our website often for the latest information on our products and promotions.

Sincerely,
Beverly Watson
Consumer Response Representative

Walkers Crisps: October 29, 2008

Thank you for your email inquiry.  I have included the information from the Walkers Smokey Bacon crisps below for your convenience.  I am unsure if they are Gluten free, however from the information provided you may be able to determine this.
  •        Suitable for vegetarians
  •        Suitable for coeliacs 
  •        No artificial colors

Aunt Jemima Pancake Syrups: December 11, 2008

We appreciate you contacting us with your question about Aunt Jemima Original syrup. There is no gluten added to our Aunt Jemima syrup varieties.

However, we follow FDA labeling guidelines, and until they come out with specific guidelines for declaring products “gluten free”, we cannot make any claims about our products. We expect those guidelines to be coming out soon.

We hope our response is helpful, Amanda. Thanks for your interest in our products.

Michael
Quaker Consumer Relations

Hormel: December 26, 2008

Response to an ingredient question: Dextrose - comes from corn
and only corn