Responses from Manufacturers: 2010 Round-Up

Due to various reasons, I was unable to update this blog during the fall/winter of 2010. This post will provide you with all the responses I received from product manufacturers, but did not yet post. As before, I will include the contact date to provide you with a point of reference. Should you contact them yourselves, and receive a different response (now they are safe, or now they aren’t safe, please write and let me know!).
Anastasia Confections: December 13, 2010
All of our coconut patties (all flavors – original/classic, key lime, orange, almond, pina colada, and mango) are 100% gluten free.
 
Customer Service
Anastasia Confections
Toll Free: 1-800-329-7100
Brewmaster: November 21, 2010
Unfortunately, we don’t sell any ingredients for making gluten free beer with our kit. Beer is made from cereal grains, of course, and gluten free beer is specially made with other ingredients, like sorghum. That being said, it’s generally pretty hard to find gluten free beer itself, never mind the ingredients, so I wouldn’t even be sure where to direct you. However, we do have other types of kits that are gluten free: our hard cider kit and hard cider standard refills and fruit refills makes a fermented apple cider that is delicious, and is gluten free. (Some of the advanced cider recipes actually call for a UME, and those are the only exception.) We also sell root beer kits that are completely gluten free as well. I’d be happy to help you place an order if you like, or to answer any further questions. Just let me know!

Cheers~

Brianna C. Customer Service
MR.BEER®
800-852-4263
www.mrbeer.com

President Cheese: October 14, 2010
Thank you for your recent inquiry regarding the presence of gluten in our products. Many of the products we manufacture are from ingredients considered to be gluten free, but we cannot make such a claim at this time for our finished products.
The grain and starches currently used in our products are allowed for people with gluten intolerance concerns (for more information, please visit the website for the Gluten Intolerance Group, www.gluten.net) but changes may occur that could affect a gluten-free claim.
We are aware of the special needs of some of our consumers and if the ability to monitor ingredients to ensure a gluten-free product becomes available, we would consider a gluten free claim at that time.

Sincerely,

Joyce LaRoche
Quality Assurance Specialist
joyce.laroche@lactalis.us

Premier Foods: October 6, 2010
Thank for your recent email regarding Sarson’s Malt Vinegar.

Because of the process vinegar goes through, it can be classed as suitable for coeliacs as there is less than 20 parts per million.

We do hope that this information is of use to you and thank you once again for taking the time and trouble to contact us.

Regards

Jan,
Consumer Relations Advisor
Premier Foods
Consumer Careline: 0800 032 7111

Please respond to Jan.Lister@premierfoods.co.uk

I responded to Jan and asked for clarification, as on the website it says naturally gluten free. But it’s naturally made FROM gluten, which contradicts that claim.  Jan did NOT write me back. 
If anyone who is Celiac and in the UK is following this blog, have you tried this product? Did you react to it? Let me know!
Kaukauna Cheese: October 4, 2010
Thank you for your e-mail and interest in our Kaukauna Cheese products.

Because we bring the cheese in from outside suppliers to make our products and do not require that they be gluten free, we cannot say for sure if they are, in fact, gluten free.

Again, thank you for contacting us giving us the opportunity to respond.

Sincerely,

Customer Service
bel brands USA

Sabra Products: October 4, 2010
Thank you for contacting us with your concern about gluten.

All the ingredients in Sabra dips and spreads are gluten free.

Thank you again for your interest in Sabra. You are a valued consumer and we hope you will continue to enjoy our many varieties of hummus.

Best regards,

Jennifer
Sabra Consumer Affairs
011206193A

Sara Lee (in regards to their Kahn’s braunshweiger): September 7, 2010
Here at Sara Lee, we have a ‘truth in labeling policy’. Anytime there is a gluten-containing ingredient in one of our products, the ingredient will be listed on the ingredient label. As we do not print a gluten-free list, we recommend checking the label every time for any ingredients your physician has told you to stay away from. We never hide gluten-containing ingredients in general listings such as flavorings or spices.

Again, thank you for your interest in our company. We appreciate your patronage. Should you have any comments or questions in the future, please contact us via our website at www.saralee.com or by calling our toll-free number, 1-800-925-3326. Our representatives are available Monday-Friday between the hours of 7am and 6pm CST.

Sincerely,

Julie
Sara Lee Consumer Affairs Representative

I have eaten this product after receiving this reply. No problems to report. 
Grosik (Polish): September 6, 2010

All our pickled vegetables are gluten free and there is no  MSG and  any glutamic acid .We are producing our vegetable preserves from fresh vegetables using only natural simple ingredients as  beet sugar, salt, spirit vinegar and spices as black pepper, bay leaf, allspice,dill horseradish,garlic. In some products we have mustard seeds as spice but everythink is on the label
We invite you to buy and you  high qualoty of our products made according to the old good recipies

Irena Majcherczyk
A-Grosik PSH Jacek Wolkowicz
Piwna 51/53  lokal 7
00-265 WARSZAWA
NIP 123 028 03 57

Kahlua: August 3, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to contact us. We always enjoy hearing from loyal customers.
Yes, Kahlua is gluten free. The processes of distillation should eliminate cereal proteins from distilled spirits drinks and therefore distilled drinks are generally accepted for a gluten-free diet. Please note however, that we cannot offer specific advice, and recommend that the individual should discuss these matters with their medical or dietetic advisors.
 
We appreciate your continued patronage of Kahlua and hope you continue to enjoy our products.
 

Best regards,
Pernod Ricard USA
Kahlua Consumer Relations

Chocovine: June 1, 2010

Chocovine is Gluten free.
Ba-Tampte Pickle Products, Inc.: February 19, 2010

How are you? Thank you for your Interest in our products in response to your question all of our products are gluten free, and we use absolutely no preservatives.  
 
Customer Relations
Ba-Tampte Pickle Products, Inc.
77 Brooklyn Terminal Market
Brooklyn, NY 11236

718-251-2100
718-531-9212 Fax